Matches (25)
IPL (2)
PAK v WI [W] (1)
WI 4-Day (4)
CAN T20 (2)
County DIV1 (5)
County DIV2 (4)
ACC Premier Cup (2)
Women's QUAD (2)
1st T20I (N), Rawalpindi, April 18, 2024, New Zealand tour of Pakistan
(0.2/5 ov) 2/1

No result


Rain wins the day after two balls of cricket

Rain had the ultimate say in a match featuring four debutants

Danyal Rasool
Danyal Rasool
18-Apr-2024 • 10 hrs ago
Rain allowed only two balls to be played on Thursday evening in Rawalpindi  •  AFP/Getty Images

Rain allowed only two balls to be played on Thursday evening in Rawalpindi  •  AFP/Getty Images

New Zealand 2 for 1 vs Pakistan (match called off due to rain)
Rain ultimately had the final say in the first T20I between Pakistan and New Zealand. The weather forecast was tricky all day, with intermittent rain forcing a half-hour delay in the toss. No sooner than the toss, which New Zealand won and elected to bat first, was held that the heavens opened again, forcing another lengthy delay that brought the game to the verge of being called off without a ball being bowled.
There was a glimmer of hope nearly three hours on, when a short pause in the rain allowed the ground to dry just about enough to ostensibly allow a 5-overs-a-side match, the shortest a T20 can be curtailed to. Shaheen Shah Afridi opened the bowling, and looked like his vintage best when he knocked back debutant Tim Robinson's middle stump with a searing inswinger off the second ball.
However, that was as much action as the weather would permit, with a drizzle resuming almost instantly after. This time, there was no time to play with, and the umpires immediately called the game off, with the players shaking hands. As per PCB policy, ticket refunds won't be issued to spectators because the toss did take place.
The unfortunate Robinson was one of four debutants in the match, with Pakistan handing T20I caps to Usman Khan, Irfan Khan and Abrar Ahmed.
The second T20I will also be held in Rawalpindi, on Saturday.

Danyal Rasool is ESPNcricinfo's Pakistan correspondent. @Danny61000

© 2024 ESPN Sports Media Ltd. All rights reserved